Country Lentil Soup

     I wanted to share this recipe with you. I got it out of my 1,001 Low-Fat Vegetarian Recipes book. I did tweak it a little bit (like I usually do) to make it into a vegan soup. It’s really easy, with just a little prep time. I also added to the vegetables, so if you look the recipe up, you’ll see that I added about two more cups of the carrots and celery.

Ingredients:
1 ½ cups chopped onions
2 cups sliced celery
2 cups sliced carrots
2 teaspoons minced garlic
1 tablespoon Safflower oil
3 cups vegetable stock
2 cups water
1 cup dried lentils, washed, sorted
1 can (14 ½ ounces) crushed tomatoes (I didn’t have any, so I used diced)
2 tablespoons finely chopped parsley
1 teaspoon dried marjoram leaves
1 teaspoon sage
½ teaspoon dried oregano leaves
¼ teaspoon dried thyme leaves
Salt and Pepper to taste
1. Sauté onions, celery, carrots and garlic in oil 5 to 8 minutes. Add vegetable stock, water, lentils, tomatoes and herbs; heat to boiling. Reduce heat and simmer, covered, until lentils are tender, about 30 minutes. Season to taste with salt and pepper.
2. Pour soup into bowls. Enjoy!

3 thoughts on “Country Lentil Soup

Leave a Reply

