Food – Additives, Sweeteners and Coloring – Get Healthy!

 

     I recently read the book Sweetness #9 by Stephan Eirik Clark. It made me once again think about the food we eat, and what it contains. If you haven’t heard about the book, it’s about an additive called Sweetness #9. The book talks about the problems that we are in fact having with our American health. This fiction book claims that the problem is with The Nine (as the flavor is called), however, there is a real problem in the real world concerning additives, artificial sweeteners and artificial colorings.

      At one point when my kids were young, I was afflicted with the worst out-break of allergies. I found out that I was allergic to just about everything: mold, birch trees, ragweed, cut grass, cats, dogs, and certain flowers, everything you can imagine. So, I began to take those really pretty pink pills, otherwise known as Benadryl. Before long, I was screaming at my kids over things that I wouldn’t have cared about a month before. I took to running around my front yard yelling at the top of my lungs to avoid killing the kids. When I went to the doctor I told him my issues with anger. He wasn’t surprised to hear about this behavior, since as he told me, the issue was the red dye they put in the Benadryl. I immediately began to take the clear, non-colored Benadryl and within a week I didn’t have any problems with my anger. Unfortunately, I’m not the only one who has had problems with red dye, and it’s still on the market along with the other dyes that have been linked to all kinds of health problems.

      When I first became a Vegetarian, about 15 years ago, I started looking at the ingredient lists of all the foods we ate. Of course we were “safe” from meat, but there were a number of ingredients that were surprising. I had no idea that something like Worcestershire Sauce had anchovies in it. My focus at the time was to keep meat and meat products out of our diet. I really didn’t look into additives, etc. at the time. I relied upon soy crumbles and other prepared foods not realizing that they had additives that I really shouldn’t have been feeding to my family.

      I’ve since become a Vegan, and once again started looking at the list of ingredients in the processed foods, I’ve now realized that unless I want to drive 40 minutes to the “local” Whole Foods store, I’ve got to make all my food from scratch. Since I can’t really afford to go to Whole Foods, I’ve been making all my own foods, and boy, am I happy to do so. I’ve looked at the ingredients on the back of the prepared foods, and have decided I won’t be feeding this to my family. Please keep in mind that whatever you put into your mouth goes into your body. If it’s not healthy, you won’t be either. Use this link and please educate yourselves.

http://mphprogramslist.com/50-jawdroppingly-toxic-food-additives-to-avoid/

4 thoughts on “Food – Additives, Sweeteners and Coloring – Get Healthy!

  1. […] Food – Additives, Sweeteners and Coloring – Get Healthy … – I recently read the book Sweetness #9 by Stephan Eirik Clark. It made me once again think about the food we eat, and what it contains. If you haven’t heard about the book, it’s about an additive called Sweetness #9. […]

  2. Reading labels is a must in order to make healthy choices. Unfortunately, food labelling is unregulated in the USA and many ingredients or sources may not be listed. Avoiding additives and artificial ingredients is a good step. Eating fresh greens is great 🙂

Leave a Reply

