Teddy Bears and Other Stuffed Animals

I was listening to an NPR interview with Mark Nixon who wrote the book Much Loved.  I also found this article http://www.theguardian.com/lifeandstyle/gallery/2013/oct/29/much-loved-teddy-bears-in-pictures-mark-nixon.  This is a book about some people’s much loved Teddy Bears and other stuffed animals. It made me think about how much we rely on and need our stuffed animals. I have had a few over the years, and sadly had to give-up a few since they were completely falling apart. I took my yellow kitty with pink eyes to college with me, and slept with it every night. It also went on our honeymoon with us. Kitty slept in our bed with us until she fell apart and her stuffing kept leaking out all over the place. I’ve since had a little Teddy Bear my son gave me until he wanted it back. I then got Tigger and still have him. He sleeps with me every night, and if he falls out of bed, I’ll get out and look everywhere for him. I actually cannot sleep without him.

      My daughter had a red dog named Lucky and a golden dog named Scooter that she slept with for years. Every night she made up stories about the adventures they’d had all day which she would tell me in their own voices.  My son had a dog named Fluffy that he only gave me to put away for him when he was worried his friends might see Fluffy and make fun of him.

     I think that one of the great things about stuffed animals is that they’ll never leave you. Real animals have a tendency to get sick, old and die. Even people close to you can leave you in various ways.  But, you’ll always have your stuffed animal. Even once they get too “well loved”, you can keep them, just not hug and sleep with them.

I’m so glad that someone wrote a book with stories about these loved stuffed animals. The stories are so touching and the pictures so sweet.  Here’s to the much loved Teddies, and other much loved stuffed animals (who, by the way, really are real) everywhere!

Leave a Reply

