Quiet Time

      I read an article in my newspaper (yes, I do still get an actual newspaper) regarding a study done by the University of Virginia in which volunteers were asked to spend 15 minutes doing nothing but thinking. Now, you would think that in our fast-paced world just having the opportunity to sit quietly and think would be appreciated. No, that’s not what the study found. Instead, the researchers found that regardless of age or gender, people did not like to be idle and alone with their thoughts. They didn’t like to sit and daydream. When asked to sit quietly for 15 minutes, two-thirds of the people in the study preferred to give themselves mild electric shocks rather than sit and think! “Many people find it difficult to use their own minds to entertain themselves, at least when asked to do it on the spot,” said Timothy Wilson, the psychology professor from the University of Virginia and leader of the study.

      As a person whose mind is always entertaining me, I had a hard time understanding that other people would rather give themselves mild electric shocks than spend time daydreaming. This study involved people from all ages, genders and socioeconomic groups.

      I love the time that I can just think. Often I can’t even listen to music since I find it distracts me from my thoughts. Does anyone else love quiet time like this?

2 thoughts on “Quiet Time

  1. I’m a thinker, too. That makes me sad, can’t imagine choosing an electrical shock instead!

Leave a Reply

