Sometimes Work is Exercise

 

      This weekend, my family and I split and stacked wood. We live in a log cabin, heated with wood stoves. It’s been a long time since we had to buy logs, but this year we did. They arrived in a huge pile that I doubted we’d ever get processed. It took us about a month, but we did in fact finish, not an hour before the thunderstorms arrived. How’s that for timing?

      I actually was feeling bad, knowing that I hadn’t in fact walked the dogs, or done my Yoga on Sunday, but then I thought what in the heck is wrong with you? Here you are, spending hours out in the humidity and sun splitting and stacking wood. This is a work-out! So, the fruits of our labor – over nine cords of wood, and hopefully two years worth of heat! A weekend well spent.

 

Leave a Reply

