Life and Death

     Life is a journey, they say. Sometimes something that someone else does slugs you in the gut, and knocks you down. That’s how I feel about Robin Williams. I can’t get over the fact that he’s not here anymore. How could a man who was so beloved by so many people still have depression? It sounds ridiculous, to say that, since I didn’t know him. It’s just that he brought so much joy into so many people’s lives. I can’t even begin to number the times that I’ve watched the movie Hook with my kids. They were young the first time we watched the movie, and to them, Robin Williams was Peter Pan.

      Depression is a rotten disease. Everyone gets depressed, but usually you can climb out of the dark well, and continue on with your life. But not everyone can do that. Clinical depression is a horse of a different color. Why is it that so many talented people suffer such problems? I don’t know and there is probably some kind of reason. But really, I’m simply devastated by the whole thing. The world is a little less bright. My heart goes out to his family.

     All we can do is remember this:

Leave a Reply

