Drinking Water

      A few months ago I saw a poster about frequent urination in the restroom at a doctor’s office where I had taken one of my elderly clients. This poster, put out by a pharmaceutical company, claimed that if you urinated more than five times in the space of four hours, you probably were suffering from an urination problem that could be cured with medicine. This simply astounded me, as the Mayo Clinic web-site states that women need at least nine 8 ounce glasses of water per day, and men need at least 13. Your urine should be clear as water, also.  In order to achieve that, you need to drink a lot of water.  As a person who drinks at least 72 ounces of water a day, if not more, I found this poster insane. I can easily urinate two or three times in the space of an hour depending on the time of day and how much water I’ve consumed.

      This poster has since been taken down, I’m not sure why exactly, but I was relived to notice it gone. Personally, I find the knee-jerk need of some physicians to immediately give prescriptions for every problem troubling. This office in particular seems to have an overabundance of pharmaceutical representatives waiting to see the doctor every time I’m there with my client.

      There are so many other ways to treat many health problems through diet, exercise and yes, even herbal remedies. For example, I have allergies to: mold; trees; dust; cat and dog dander; to name a few. Last year I started using homeopathic ways of dealing with these problems, and it’s been working out well. I’m not telling anyone this is what they should do, but if it’s worked for me, maybe it would work for others, too.

 

Leave a Reply

