The Necessity of Sleep

   Lately there have been a lot of scientific studies out saying that getting enough sleep is really important. They also say that all kinds of things can happen to your body if you’re sleep deprived. As someone who usually only gets between 5 and 6 hours of sleep a night, I’m a little concerned. Weight gain is one thing you can look forward to if you continue a lifestyle of not enough sleep. Not to mention brain-fog, etc. As someone who suffers from both problems, one of my new goals is to try and get more sleep. It’s really hard to go to bed earlier in the summer. For one thing, it doesn’t get dark out until around 9 or so. For another, we’re once again having an extremely hot and humid summer. So, I end up putting bedtime later and later, hoping that it will magically get cooler. To help with this problem, I’ve put a large fan on the hope-chest that sits at the end of my bed. This helps a lot, but falling asleep can be an issue, too.
Doing meditation, or at least breathing correctly can help. I try to breathe through my nose, and with my diaphragm, not only my lungs. This also helps, as it relaxes the body. But, usually my mind tends to jump all over the place. Again, meditation can help with that. I try to just breathe, and think, in, out, in, out, and only that. Of course this is a work in progress, so I think that it’ll just take time, like everything else. Another goal to work on; my list keeps growing, but hopefully, with time this will get better, too.

   If you have any tricks to getting more sleep, let me know.

2 thoughts on “The Necessity of Sleep

  1. I generally get 7-8 hours of sleep a night but a lot of times that still doesn’t seem like enough! Sleep deprivation is mainly correlated to weight gain because obviously if you sleep less you’re awake more and have more time to eat. But one tip I have for sleeping is investing in an eye mask. That way no matter how dark or light it is, it’ll feel like nightime. The first few times I used one it felt really weird but I got used to it! I’ve also heard that you shouldn’t eat less than 3 hours before you plan to sleep because it causes weight gain and causes you not to sleep as well. Hope these help!

    -G
    http://www.palmtreesandpellegrino.wordpress.com

    • Thanks! I’ve often thought about getting an eye mask, but I’ve been afraid that it’d be too weird. I think I should try it. I also don’t eat before sleeping; and agree that being awake longer just gives you more time to it. After everyone else goes to sleep is my chip-time. Bad, I know.

Leave a Reply

