Goals, Fibromyalgia and Education

  I wrote my previous blog without saying anything about myself, or my goals. I’m a 53 year-old married mother of two, who is hoping to get as fit and healthy as I can before I get “old”. (Which I believe is more a state of mind, than anything else). I also want to lose twenty pounds by Thanksgiving, and post a blog every Monday, Wednesday and Friday. Not too shabby for goals, is it?

   I work with the elderly, so I have a good idea of my future, and I want to make sure I don’t end up like a lot of the elderly I see on a daily basis. My “wake-up” call was when I met a woman in a doctor’s waiting room who looked to be in her late 60’s. She told me she had Fibromyalgia (which I also have), and was having a hard time moving around. She was there to get her pain medicine increased. I told her I had Fibromyalgia also, but I never had to take any pain meds. She told me that once I reached 50 it would get that much worse. I asked her how old she was; she told me she was 51, two years younger than I am. When I told her that, she couldn’t believe it. I also tried to tell her about alternative medicine for Fibromyalgia, but she felt that taking medicine from the doctor was the only way to treat it. I wanted to tell this story to show that if you have an illness, you should educate yourself about both the conventional ways to treat it, and the alternative ways to help you deal with it. After my diagnosis, my doctor put me on Prozac, which I took for about 6 months, then stopped. I hadn’t noticed any difference in the way that I felt, and decided I didn’t want to worry about the side effects. Instead I looked up alternative ways of living with Fibromyalgia. After a few years of trying different things, this is what I do:

  1. If I feel depressed, (usually I don’t) I’ll start taking St. John’s Wort.
  2. For pain I take 400 mg of Magnesium daily. This usually works most of the time. The only problem is that it can cause bowel distress if you take too much, so I keep it at just one tablet per day.
  3. I also drink 2 ounces of 100% Aloe Vera juice. I use this for pain management, energy and all-around good health.

  Is there a difference in the way I feel if I don’t take these? Yes, I definitely feel better. If I skip them, I have severe flu-like aches and pains, but if I take the Magnesium, and Aloe Vera daily, I feel so much better! I’m not telling anyone else what to do, just what I do that makes a difference for me. So, educate yourself, for yourself.

 

2 thoughts on “Goals, Fibromyalgia and Education

  1. I LOVE that you say educate yourself. One of the major things I have learned and try to share is the fact that you HAVE to be your own best advocate. SO many doctors have so little understanding of our illness and will often try medications that have severe side effects (that can be worse). I research any and every medication they attempt to put me on. Some I will try, others I WILL NOT. And remember you do have the RIGHT to say no. It is your body and you know it better than ANYONE. ((gentle hugs))

    • Thanks so much for your comment. I really believe that we have to know exactly what we’re taking, and the side effects you may have. Too many people let their doctors tell them what to do, and they never look for alternative ways to help themselves.

Leave a Reply

